Tipping Talk

16 Sep

Trying something a little different here… a discussion.

Case in point: I had lunch at a fairly popular spot here in town and had terrible service; While we were seated quickly, it took forever to have our drink orders taken, even longer to have our food orders taken, another server brought out our food, and it took a long time for our check to be handled.

I’m always ready to extend grace during a busy lunch rush, but this went beyond what would be considered normal.

So, I’m curious… when you experience bad service at a restaurant, do you still feel compelled to leave a 15-20% tip, or do you dock it accordingly?

4 Responses to “Tipping Talk”

  1. Jen September 16, 2010 at 3:19 pm #

    It depends. If they are just busy and not being rude I’ll tip the usual. If I can clearly see they are goofing off and not doing their job. Tip will be docked.

  2. Brandon September 16, 2010 at 3:35 pm #

    I normally tip 20 percent for a good job. If its poor service then 10. Terrible then nothing. I used to work in F&B and hated when customers ran you to death then didn’t tip. If service is at least a worthwhile effort then 20 should be given.

  3. Raven September 16, 2010 at 4:11 pm #

    I experienced something similar today, except they were not busy at all and she kept passing my table without speaking to me or even looking at me (small restaurant). And I wanted my bill and a box so I could make it back to work. Was pretty annoying. However, I tipped her my usual 20% (EXACTLY) because my bill was so low anyway (for one at lunch). So she didn’t make hardly anything from me, but had it of been a higher bill I probably would of docked her tip. I usually try and tip according to my service.

  4. Adam September 17, 2010 at 6:48 am #

    TIP stands for To insure proper service. If I don’t get good service they will be given accordingly. I give grace if it deals with the food as the server didn’t cook it and the back of the ouse might be slow in getting it to the pass. empty drink glasses, missing server, requests not taken care of or take forever drive me insane. A radio talk show host had a great idea. Decide what you are going to eat and figure the tip. Put that amount of money on the table and tell the server that is his/her tip. Every time she does something wrong some money comes off the table. whatever is left at the end of the meal is what they get.

Leave a Reply

